click for secret area
Diagnosis and Treatment of ADHD, Learning Disabilities, Migraines, and Traumatic Brain Injury

 Neuropsychological Evaluations and Non-pharmaceutical Treatment
The best neuropsychological testing and treatment center
in New York, NY. 

The Brain Clinic's mission is to help you build a better brain. We offer a variety of high quality, cost-effective assessment and treatment options under the careful supervision of Dr. J. Lawrence Thomas, a senior level neuropsychologist and clinical psychologist in practice for over 30 years.

 We offer neuropsychologial evaluations and non-pharmaceutical treatments useful for individuals with:

Treatments include:

_____________________________________________

clockExtended Time on Standardized Exams
Adults and teens with learning disabilities are able to gain additional time in high-stakes testing situations (SAT, ACT, MCAT, LSAT, GRE, GMAT, etc) with the right documentation. 

 

 

__________________________________________________________

High-Stakes Testing Express:

The Brain Clinic offers a quick method for determining if you are likely to have a good case for getting extra time for high-stakes testing accommodations. All it takes is approximately 90 minutes of your time to determine if you will have a strong  possibility of being granted. Fee is $350, and testing can be done on Saturdays. Call today to set up an appointment.

____________________

Treatment for Chronic Pain with Biofeedback in New York at the Brain Clinic


The most common treatment for chronic pain is drug therapy.  The problem with this is that many of the medications can be addictive.  And the addiction can sneak up on you.  Before you know it, you might be craving to have this medicine.  This has contributed to many problems in the country, one of which is the over-dose deaths from Oxycontin.  In my office I use biofeedback and neurofeedback to treat pain conditions, and it has been effective. 

Click here for Full Article 

 

_________________________________________________

Neurofeedback for ADHD – Train Your Brain to get better

A new treatment has been emerging in the last several decades for Attention Deficit Disorder and other mild brain-behavior problems —biofeedback of your brain waves.  This is Neurofeedback, and the latest term is Neurotherapy.  This method of treatment has been shown to be effective for a wide range of disorders besides Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD); it can help PMS, alcohol abuse, depression, mild brain dysfunction from a variety of causes (some examples are cognitive problems from cardiac bypass surgery, chronic fatigue syndrome, Lyme disease) and closed head injury.  Patients learn how to self regulate their own brain states by watching feedback on the computer (including your favorite movie). 

Click here for full article

____________________

Contact us for more information about our services and to schedule an appointment. We look forward to helping you build a better brain. Neuropsychological Evaluations and Non-pharmaceutical Treatment in New York, NY.

 

 

 

 

 

 

_________________________

NEW BRAIN CLINIC ARTICLES

Short Notes of Learning Disabilities and Mild Brain Injury http://thebrainclinic.com/short-notes-learning-disabilities-brain-injury/

Marijuana and Motivation  http://thebrainclinic.com/marijuana-and-motivation/

Rheumatologic Conditions  http://thebrainclinic.com/articles-3/rheumatologic-conditions/

Primary Progressive Aphasia http://thebrainclinic.com/articles-3/primary-progressive-aphasia/

Postoperative Cognitive Dysfunction  http://thebrainclinic.com/articles-3/postoperative-cognitive-dysfunction/

Lyme Disease  http://thebrainclinic.com/articles-3/lyme-disease/

Dementia Lewy Bodies  http://thebrainclinic.com/dementia-lewy-bodies/

Huntingtons Disease  http://thebrainclinic.com/articles-3/huntingtons-disease/

Behavioral Variant Frontotemporal Dementia  http://thebrainclinic.com/articles-3/behavioral-variant-frontotemporal-dementia/

Epilepsy  http://thebrainclinic.com/articles-3/epilepsy/

Alzheimers Disease   http://thebrainclinic.com/articles-3/alzheimers-disease/

Acquired Hydrocephalus   http://thebrainclinic.com/articles-3/acquired-hydrocephalus/

Wilsons Disease http://thebrainclinic.com/articles-3/wilsons-disease/2018-03-02 14:19

Schizophrenia  http://thebrainclinic.com/articles-3/schizophrenia/2018-03-02 14:49

Mild TBI Postraumatic Amnesia  http://thebrainclinic.com/articles-3/mild-tbi-posttraumatic-amnesia-pta/2015-09-28 12:39

Chiari Malformation  http://thebrainclinic.com/articles-3/chiari-malformation/2018-03-02 15:25

Parkinsons Disease  http://thebrainclinic.com/articles-3/parkinsons-disease/2018-03-02 14:24

Electrical Injuries   http://thebrainclinic.com/articles-3/electrical-injuries/2015-06-25 18:08

Anoxiahypoxia  http://thebrainclinic.com/articles-3/anoxiahypoxia-2/2015-06-25 17:59

Chemobrain http://thebrainclinic.com/articles-3/chemobrain/2018-03-02 14:22

  • *Please click Articles" on the menu bar at the top of the page for more.

————————————————————————————————————–

The World Health Organization Adult Self-Report Scale (ASRS) Screener

The World Health Organization has prepared a self-screening questionnaire you can use to determine if you might have adult ADHD. The Adult Self-Report Scale (ASRS) Screenerwill help you recognize the signs and symptoms of adult ADHD. The ASRS is comprised of 6 questions that are ranked on a scale of 0 to 4. If you have at least 4 of these 6 symptoms significantly, you may have ADHD and should seek out a formal diagnosis.

When you complete this Adult ADHD questionnaire, if the results seem to indicate you might have ADHD (that is, four or more of your answers in Part A are located in the grey boxes), then bring a copy of the questionnaire with you when you seek diagnosis to help with the diagnostic process.

Click here to download PDF

___________________________________________________________

IN THE NEWS..

THE NEW SCIENCE: Changing Ourselves by Changing the Brain, by Patty de Llosa

 
 
 

Interview with Dr. James L. Thomas, Ph.D.
click here for article

I spoke with neuropsychologist James Lawrence Thomas, author of Do You Have Attention Deficit Disorder? whose Brain Clinic (www.thebrainclinic.com) specializes in diagnosing and treating adult ADD, learning disabilities, mild head injuries, bipolar disorder, depression, and pain management. Treatment can include psychotherapy, cognitive remediation, neurofeedback, and biofeedback. He explained that the term neurotherapy includes all forms of training the brain with special equipment while neurofeedback usually refers to brainwave training, also called EEG Biofeedback. Since brain waves occur in various frequencies …read more

__________________________________________________

 

The Brain Clinic

Promote Your Page Too

 

Contact Us

Neuropsychological Evaluations and Non-pharmaceutical Treatments

Extended Time on Standardized Exams

Extended Time on Standardized Exams

Non Pharmaceutical Treatment Options

Non Pharmaceutical Treatment Options

Non Pharmaceutical Treatment Options

Forensic Neuropsychology

Forensic Neuropsychology

Forensic Neuropsychology

Available on Amazon

Translate »